2010Oswaldo Martinez

2010 Season

2010Oswaldo Martinez
2010 Season

The 2010 Formula One season was the 61st season of FIA Formula One motor racing competition. This was Bridgestone's final season as the sole tyre supplier in Formula One as the company announced that it would not renew its contract at the end of the season. After several months of deliberation, Pirelli was chosen as the tyre supplier for the 2011 season at the FIA World Motor Sport Council meeting in Geneva, in June 2010. The points system was changed, with 25 points being awarded for first place, 18 for second, 15 for third, then 12, 10, 8, 6, 4, 2 and 1 for fourth to tenth. The technical and sporting regulations applicable for the season were the subject of much debate.

Red Bull won its maiden Constructors' Championship with a one-two finish in Brazil, while Red Bull Racing's Sebastian Vettel won the Drivers' Championship after winning the final race of the season. In doing so, Vettel became the youngest World Drivers' Champion in the sport's sixty-year history. Vettel's victory in the championship came after a dramatic season finale at Abu Dhabi where three other drivers could also have won the championship – Vettel's Red Bull Racing team mate Mark Webber, Ferrari's Fernando Alonso and McLaren's Lewis Hamilton.

Find the season results below: race by race.

GP Date Winner Driver Laps
Bahrain 14 Mar Fernando Alonso 49
Australia 28 Mar Jenson Button 58
Malaysia 04 Abr Sebastian Vettel 56
China 18 Abr Jenson Button 56
Spain 09 May Mark Webber 66
Monaco 16 May Mark Webber 78
Turkey 30 May Lewis Hamilton 58
Canada 13 Jun Lewis Hamilton 70
Europe 27 Jun Sebastian Vettel 57
Great Britain 11 Jul Mark Webber 52
Germany 25 Jul Fernando Alonso 67
Hungary 01 Ago Mark Webber 70
Belgium 29 Ago Lewis Hamilton 44
Italy 12 Sep Fernando Alonso 53
Singapore 26 Sep Fernando Alonso 61
Japan 10 Oct Sebastian Vettel 53
Korea 24 Oct Fernando Alonso 55
Brazil 07 Nov Sebastian Vettel 71
Abu Dhabi 14 Nov Sebastian Vettel 55