2015 Japanese Grand Prix preview

Mighty Suzuka! One of the driver’s favorite tracks on the Formula 1 calendar, the Suzuka Circuit features a unique circuit of eight layout. It offers some of the fastest and most demanding corners, such as the legendary 130R. It also requires the most durable compounds to maintain grip, which is why Pirelli takes the P Zero Orange hard and P Zero White medium tires.

Pirelli’s Paul Hembery talks up the race: "Suzuka is one of the most aggressive circuits we face on the calendar from a tire perspective: it’s right up there with Silverstone and Spa. The drivers absolutely love the experience of driving here, and over the course of the weekend we are always privileged to meet some of the most passionate and dedicated fans we see anywhere all year. They are a vital part of what makes coming to Suzuka so special. Of course, like everybody else, Jules Bianchi will be in our thoughts more than ever over the Japanese Grand Prix weekend."

Last year’s strategy and how the race was won: The race was started behind the safety car and ran in wet conditions from start to finish. Lewis Hamilton won for Mercedes from second on the grid, starting on the Cinturato Blue wet tyres and then stopping on laps 14 and 35 for intermediates.

Williams’ Valtteri Bottas: "The Japanese fans are the most fanatic in the world. They support you in a unique way, so it’s always a pleasure to go there. As a track it’s one of my favourites and I really enjoy the old-school fast corners. The first sector stands out as the most fun. The weather can always play a part so you always need to keep that in mind strategy wise. We will be going to Suzuka confident that we can be competitive and get a strong result."

Grand Prix: Japanese
Race Date: Sep 27 2015
First Grand Prix: 1987
Circuit Name: Suzuka International Racing Course
Circuit Length: 5.807 km
Turns: 18
Laps: 53
Race Distance: 307.471 km
Lap Record: Kimi Raikkonen (2005)

Practice 1 - Fri 10:00 - 11:30
Practice 2 - Fri 14:00 – 15:30
Practice 3 - Sat 12:00 – 13:00
Qualifying - Sat 15:00 – 16:00
Race - Sun 14:00

The last five winners: 2014 - Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes); 2013 - Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull); 2012 - Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull); 2011 - Jenson Button (McLaren); 2010 - Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull).