Hamilton flies high at Suzuka

Lewis Hamilton overtook Nico Rosberg into the first corner and went on to win his 8th victory of the season, and 41st career win to equal the great Ayrton Senna. Rosberg was second, Sebastian Vettel third.

Hamilton from the podium: "I have to say a big thank you to the fans. I'm so happy right now; it's great to be back up here with a one-two. For me to come here, where I used to love watching Ayrton drive, and match his wins, is amazing for me!"

The world champion is now 48 points clear of his Silver Arrow team-mate, and returns to winning ways in the path to win his 3rd Formula 1 title at the end of the year.

Nico Rosberg from the podium: "Fourth would not have been acceptable, so it was great to fight back. [The title] is going the wrong way. I had to win today, that was important - it just didn't work out."

Sebastian Vettel from the podium: "It was close with Nico I think, we had a chance but it's always easier with hindsight. Interesting to see those two fighting in the first corner. These boys have a great car, a great engine, and it makes them hard to beat, but I think we're going in the right direction."

The race had an explosive start with both Mercedes going side by side into the first corner, with Hamilton coming out ahead, and from there on he wouldn’t lose the lead. It was opposite luck for Daniel Ricciardo, Felipe Massa and Sergio Perez, all which had punctures into the first turn - they would all be able to carry on though.

Toro Rosso’s Max Verstappen was again quite the spectacle, climbing his way into the points from 18th in the grid. Also very happy will be Lotus, having Romain Grosjean and Pastor Maldonado 7th and 8th.

For McLaren, it was a sour home race, with Fernando Alonso even having some harsh remarks in frustration, "They pass me on the straights like GP2. It is embarassing, very embarassing". Alonso finished 11th, with team-mate Jenson Button 16th.

Race Result

1 Lewis Hamilton 1:28:06.508
2 Nico Rosberg +18.964s
3 Sebastian Vettel +20.850s
4 Kimi Räikkönen +33.768s
5 Valtteri Bottas +36.746s
6 Nico Hülkenberg +55.559s
7 Romain Grosjean +72.298s
8 Pastor Maldonado +73.575s
9 Max Verstappen +95.315s
10 Carlos Sainz, Jr. +1 lap