21 races set but only 20 are allowed

Back at the start of October it was revealed that the 2016 Formula One season would consist of 21 races but that has now been thrown in to doubt as the FIA have published their sporting regulations for 2016 where it states in article 5.4 “the maximum number of Events in the championship is 20 and the minimum is 8”

The provisional calendar for the 2016 had seen the re-inclusion of the German Grand Prix and the addition of a new street race around Baku in June on top of the 19 races on the 2015 calendar, with this new revelation it may be a case of the newest events on the calendar having to battle it out to be included in the 20 events currently sanctioned.

The regulations do state that the FIA have until January the 1st 2016 to submit the final race calendar for the upcoming season, but with the season due to get under way on March the 20th any changes implemented to the calendar that late in day could result in the teams rushing to get the logistics of having so many races in such quick succession correct and on time all whilst being focused on building the best car they can, it could also result in the tracks not being ready as the organisers may not know if they are included in the final calendar until the start of 2016.

The current 2016 calendar is below.

March 20 – Australia
April 3 – Bahrain
April 17 – China
May 1 – Sochi
May 15 – Spain
May 29 – Monaco
June 12 – Canada
June 19 – Baku-Azerbaijan
July 3 – Austria
July 10 – Britain
July 24 – Hungary
July 31 – Germany
August 28 – Belgium
September 4 – Italy
September 18 – Singapore
October 2 – Malaysia
October 9 – Japan
October 23 – USA
November 6 – Mexico
November 13 – Brazil
November 27 – Abu Dhabi

By: Chris Laker
Follow his blog here